Tags

, , , , ,

Not sure if I have mentioned this before or not, but I take martial arts. This is going to be a rant, fair warning. Topic: some people just need to grow a pear and learn how to take a hit. I’ve been attending a new karate place for the past month or two. It’s a great place, a lot more chaotic than what I am used to, but it’s still very social and welcoming. However, the person I have been paired with in sparring has no control what-so-ever, and complains a lot about hits. The people there spar with every kind of pad imaginable. Of course they have the basic knuckle and foot pads, but they also wear shin, chest, and helmet guards. They keep asking me why I don’t have a chest guard or a helmet guard. My answer: why do I need it?

Here’s the thing. With most places, only the younger students wear the chest and helmet guards, mostly because of their lack of control. Children like to flail, right? But there are older kids with belts (up to red) that wear these and I find it completely stupid.

The boy I have been sparring is twice my height (lanky, though). He flails like a fish and has no control what-so-ever. In a single night, two spars, he managed to hit me on the head twice, grazed my left eye, kick my knee one, and my shin Lord knows how many times, all hard enough to leave a bruise. Those points don’t count because of their lack of control. However, when I graze his chin in a controlled back hand, it counts. What does he do? He complains saying that it was towards the face so it shouldn’t count. It was overruled and I ended up winning both spars.

I wanted to say a lot of things. One being that I guarantee you the guy mugging you doesn’t give a shit that he broke your nose or knocked all the air out of your lungs. Stop clutching your stomach and complaining, get off of your ass, and fight back. Yes, sparring is a controlled fight. I’m not saying go hit the other person like it’s the guy that could mug you tomorrow night, but good gosh grow a pear and learn to take a small hit.

